Jean Banks Award

for new Musical Theater writers

The Jean Banks Award is presented annually to the lyricist(s) and composer(s) of the best ten-minute musical created in the BMI Lehman Engel Musical Theatre Workshop, a Tony-honored program for new writers of musical theatre. The award was established in 2012 to celebrate the memory of musical theatre devotee and former BMI Senior Director of Jazz/Musical Theatre and BMI Foundation Secretary, Jean Banks.

A $500 prize is presented as part of the BMI Foundation’s annual Musical Theatre Awards ceremony held at Broadcast Music, Inc.’s New York City headquarters. The winning work is chosen by Workshop faculty that in past years has included Tony Award-winning composer and BMI Foundation Advisory Panel Member Maury Yeston (Nine, Titanic) and GRAMMY-, Oscar-, and Tony-winning composer Alan Menken (Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, The Little Mermaid, Pocahontas).


By invitation only, no applications accepted.