Jerry Harrington Musical Theatre Awards

The Jerry Harrington Awards For Outstanding Creative Achievement in Musical Theatre are presented annually for the works judged “most outstanding” in the BMI Lehman Engel Musical Theatre Workshop, a Tony-honored program that is widely regarded as the premiere training ground for emerging musical theatre composers, lyricists, and librettists. Awards totaling $2,600 are presented to members of each Workshop division: First Year, Second Year, Advanced, and Librettists. The winning works are chosen by Workshop faculty that in past years has included Tony Award-winning composer and BMI Foundation Advisory Panelist Maury Yeston (Nine, Titanic) and GRAMMY-, Oscar-, and Tony-winning composer Alan Menken (Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, The Little Mermaid, Pocahontas).

The Awards were established in 2000 by BMI Foundation Board Member Evelyn Buckstein, in honor of her late friend and colleague Jerry Harrington, who was an avid supporter of musical theatre. Prior winners of the Jerry Harrington Awards include GRAMMY- and Oscar-winning composers Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez (Frozen) and Tony-winner Jeff Marx (Avenue Q).


By invitation only, no applications accepted.